## STATE OF WYOMING

Application for Certificate of Title and VIN/HIN Inspection Form (Proof of ownership MUST accompany application)

Motor Vehicle	Trailer	` —	/atercraft /	Mobile Home	Date Title Issue	ed:
MANUFACTURER	URER YEAR VEHICLE / HULL IDENTIFICATION NO.			).	NMVTIS	BODY STYLE
FACTORY PRICE / MSRP	STATE	PRIOR TITLE NO.	ODOMETER	WEIGHT	PURCHASE DATE	VESSEL LENGTH
		BRANDED TITLE INFORMATION -	definitions and requirements are	on the reverse side of the	nis application.	
		ever had a branded title?  Yes [ al loss by an insurance company or				
		ection:				
				9		
PURCHASER / SELLER	INFORMATIO	M (Please print clearly)				T :
		• (Flease рий стеану)				Joint Tenants With Rights of Survivorship?
ADDRESS	, ,		CITY		STATE	
						ZIP
LIEN INFORMATION (C.						
LIEN INFORMATION (PIG	ease print clearly)					
NAME OF LIEN H	OLDER					
ADDRESS			CITY		STATE	ZIP
LIEN FILING #	LIEN FILING # FILING		TE		LIEN AMOUNT	
a Wyoming Certificate of best of my/our knowledge	Title. I/we furthe that if the vehical, acknowledge	under penalty of perjury that all informer warrant that said vehicle is own cle is a mobile home, all taxes due that I/we may be responsible for the title.	ned by me/us and is su e on the mobile home f	ubject to the liens for the preceding	s shown and none other. and current year have be	I/we further certify to the een paid and in the even
PURCHASER SIGNATURE	(S): <b>X</b>		X			
REQ ** Before completing the	UIRED WHEN e V.I.N. or H.I.N e print the vehi ED AGENT HIN HERE	THE PRIOR TITLE IS FROM A STATE IN THE PRIOR TO THE PRIO	TATE OTHER THAN N "NOTICE" on the rev curate and legible as	WYOMING. NO rerse side or this s possible and the ha-numeric charac	T REQUIRED FOR MSO. s form to determine if y then verify with your sig	/MCO. ou are authorized by gnature at the bottom.
Year: Mal	ke:	Model: (F-150, Camaro, Wran	Trim:	77.10.5	VIN / HIN Verified Wi	th NCIC? Yes / No
						(Circle One)
Subject to the penalties of	perjury, I,		BAD	GE/TITLE/DLR NU	JMBER:	an
an authorized member or e	mployee of, AGI	ENCY OF ENTITY NAME:				
		( <u>Please Circle One</u> ) Police Dept. / S			•	
		ed the VIN or HIN in the state of erifies that I am authorized by the lav				
Signature:		r	Date:		Phone:	

W.S. 31-3-102(b) provides a \$10.00 fee for each vehicle identification number inspected, and one \$10.00 fee for inspection of a VIN and HIN at the same time, pursuant to W.S. 31-2-103(a)(vi).

**NOTICE:** The person conducting the **VIN** (vehicle) or **HIN** (watercraft) identification number inspection SHALL be authorized by their state statute regarding inspections of this nature. Any person who conducts a VIN or HIN inspection and is not lawfully authorized to do so shall be cause to void the title application and may void any title or registration issued that is related to this VIN or HIN inspection. In addition, **YOU MAY BE SUBJECT TO CRIMINAL PENALTIES.** (A VALID HIN on a watercraft is required to have 10-14 alpha-numeric digits but typically has 12, with no spaces or dashes.)

## Wyoming V.I.N. Inspection Statutes

- W.S. 31-2-103. Contents of application; signature; vehicle identification number; issuance of certificate.
- (a) (vi) In the case of a vehicle registered or titled in a state other than Wyoming, or any homemade vehicle, rebuilt vehicle, reconstructed vehicle, any vehicle assembled from a kit or any vehicle for which a bond is required, a current statement made by a Wyoming law enforcement officer, or licensed Wyoming dealer only for vehicles in his inventory or possession, that the vehicle identification number on the vehicle has been inspected and that the inspection occurred in Wyoming and certifying the correct vehicle identification number displayed on the vehicle. Any licensed Wyoming dealer performing an inspection of a vehicle identification number under this section shall, in addition to the requirements of this act, do so pursuant to W.S. 31-11-108. In the case of a vehicle not in Wyoming, the vehicle identification number may be inspected and certified on a form approved by the department if the inspection is made by an authorized law enforcement officer of a city, county or state law enforcement agency or a commissioned officer at a federal military installation or any other person authorized to do so by law and delivered to the county clerk in the county where the application for certificate of title is made along with payment for the inspection fee required under W.S. 31-3-102(b) (iv);
- (ix) Such other information as required by the department or county clerk which may include but not be limited to a vehicle bill of sale or similar document, any documentation necessary to verify proof of ownership including an affidavit for proof of ownership or any surety bond required by this act. Any affidavit for proof of ownership shall be prescribed pursuant to W.S. 31-1-201(d) and shall be utilized by each county of this state;
- (x) A Wyoming certificate of title shall contain an appropriate notice whenever records readily accessible to the state indicate that the motor vehicle was previously issued a title or registration from any jurisdiction that bore any word or symbol signifying that the vehicle was "salvage", "unrebuildable", "parts only", "scrap", "junk", "nonrepairable", "reconstructed", "rebuilt" or any other symbol or word of like kind, or that it has been damaged by flood. Any information concerning a motor vehicle's status shall also be conveyed on any subsequent title issued for the vehicle by this state, including a duplicate or replacement title.
- (d) Upon receipt of an application and payment of fees any county clerk shall, <u>if satisfied that the applicant is the owner of the vehicle for which application for certificate of title is made</u>, issue a paper certificate of title or electronic certificate of title, if available, upon a form or electronic format, approved by and provided at cost to the county clerk by the department in the name of the owner bearing the signature and seal of the county clerk's office. The county clerk shall not deliver a certificate of title issued under this section until presentation of a receipt for payment of sales or use tax pursuant to W.S. 39-15-107(b) or 39-16-107(b).

## **Wyoming Salvage Statute Information**

- W.S. 31-2-107. Titles for damaged vehicles; return of certificate of title and registration for damaged vehicle; replacement title and registration.
- (a) When a motor vehicle is declared a total loss by the insurance company or, in the event an insurance company is not involved in the settlement of the claim, sustains damage in an amount exceeding seventy-five percent (75%) of its actual retail cash value, as set forth in any current edition of a nationally recognized automotive appraisal guide or other source approved by the Wyoming insurance department, the owner or insurance company, if it obtains ownership of the vehicle through transfer of title as a result of a settlement of an insurance claim, shall forward the properly endorsed certificate of title to the office of the county clerk that issued the certificate of title together with an application for a certificate of title branded salvage and payment of the fee required under W.S.

  31-3-102(a)(vii) to obtain a properly branded certificate of title. When any vehicle accident report is required under chapter 5, article 11 of this title, the investigating officer shall provide written notice to the owner or operator of the vehicle of the requirements under this section.
- (d) This section shall not apply to motor vehicles with more than eight (8) years of service except any vehicle that was previously issued a title from any state that bore any word or symbol signifying that the vehicle was "salvage", "unrebuildable", "parts only", "scrap", "junk", "nonrepairable", "reconstructed", "rebuilt" or any other symbol or word of like kind, or that it has been damaged by flood, shall obtain a Wyoming title with the prior brand or any other information concerning the motor vehicle status, carried forward on any subsequent Wyoming title regardless of years of service.